on some support request I installed campsite 3.1.2 on an webspace account,
which uses cgi php. Just had to mekr 2 hacks to the installer to get it to
work (as far I can see):
CampInstallationView.php line 224:
The function apache_get_modules() is not available in cgi php. I just
returned 'Yes' before the function call.
CampInstallationBase.php line 365:
I believe the exec command is disabled, so I had to make the if clause alwas
wrong to reach the next step (without having the cron taks installed).
I bet at least 50% of the PHP open source projects out there don't work on
CGI PHP. Besides the fact that CGI PHP is really a stupid solution. I
suggest we don't spend time supporting all kind of weird "configurations".
There's not a chance that a real news publication, one that has some amout
of traffic would use CGI PHP.
Mugur
On Tue, Nov 11, 2008 at 10:10 PM, Sebastian Goebel wrote:
> Hi,
>
> on some support request I installed campsite 3.1.2 on an webspace account,
> which uses cgi php. Just had to mekr 2 hacks to the installer to get it to
> work (as far I can see):
>
> CampInstallationView.php line 224:
> The function apache_get_modules() is not available in cgi php. I just
> returned 'Yes' before the function call.
>
> CampInstallationBase.php line 365:
> I believe the exec command is disabled, so I had to make the if clause
> alwas
> wrong to reach the next step (without having the cron taks installed).
>
> So far, lets see if other problem occur.
>
> Best,
> Sebastian
>
>
I sound this statement in an article written by Kristian Köhntopp, who is an german web Guru: "Much shared webhosters use cgi php, because it's easyer to install it a way it does not harm system security."
I would see it that way: if 50% of the others fails, our chance is higher to come into business. Or into private usage. Why not supporting that?
May "real news publications", whatever this is, have other needs and ressources. But since a while there are this requests for installations on webspace, like this guy I made it for him, even willing to donate us. It's at least an entrance to find new users. Nobody will rent another webspace just to try out an software.
Sebastian
-----Original Message-----
From: Mugur Rus [mailto:mugur.rus@gmail.com]
Sent: Wednesday, November 12, 2008 9:59 AM
To: campsite-dev@campware.org
Subject: Re: [campsite-dev] campsite on cgi php
I bet at least 50% of the PHP open source projects out there don't work on CGI PHP. Besides the fact that CGI PHP is really a stupid solution. I suggest we don't spend time supporting all kind of weird "configurations". There's not a chance that a real news publication, one that has some amout of traffic would use CGI PHP.
Mugur
On Tue, Nov 11, 2008 at 10:10 PM, Sebastian Goebel wrote:
Hi,
on some support request I installed campsite 3.1.2 on an webspace account,
which uses cgi php. Just had to mekr 2 hacks to the installer to get it to
work (as far I can see):
CampInstallationView.php line 224:
The function apache_get_modules() is not available in cgi php. I just
returned 'Yes' before the function call.
CampInstallationBase.php line 365:
I believe the exec command is disabled, so I had to make the if clause alwas
wrong to reach the next step (without having the cron taks installed).
we plan an system upgrade on edge server. To make an backup of the whole
harddrive before, the server will be offline for 1-2 hours, today, later
afternoon.
Can you please tell me with more details how did you managed to
install campsite 3.1.2 on a cgi php account?
I am trying to install campsite on my Bluehost account to check its
features.
How did you made the function apache_get_modules() to return 'Yes'
before the function call, and the exec command thing?
Thanks in advance
Yannis Baritakis
On 11 Νοε 2008, at 10:10 ΜΜ, Sebastian Goebel wrote:
> CampInstallationView.php line 224:
> The function apache_get_modules() is not available in cgi php. I just
> returned 'Yes' before the function call.
>
> CampInstallationBase.php line 365:
> I believe the exec command is disabled, so I had to make the if
> clause alwas
> wrong to reach the next step (without having the cron taks installed).
I simply changed the function to return 'Yes' before the apache_get_modulees is called:
public static function CheckRewriteModule()
{
return 'Yes';
return array_search('mod_rewrite', apache_get_modules()) !== FALSE ? 'Yes' : 'No';
}
Actually I am not sure if it really matters, but check if you have mod_rewrite installed. If not, retutn 'No'.
Another issue is that cgi-php may not able to call the cron binary using exec(). In this case you will get an error at the end of the install provess, and cannot continue. You can skip the cron install using the attches CampInstallationBase.php The cron is there for automatic publishing, creating the article index, sending notifications etc. You can manually add following lines (need to adjust the path)
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Yannis Baritakis [mailto:ibaritakis@yahoo.com]
> Sent: Sunday, November 16, 2008 8:33 PM
> To: campsite-dev@campware.org
> Subject: Re: [Bulk] [campsite-dev] campsite on cgi php
>
>
> Hello,
>
> Can you please tell me with more details how did you managed to
> install campsite 3.1.2 on a cgi php account?
> I am trying to install campsite on my Bluehost account to check its
> features.
> How did you made the function apache_get_modules() to return 'Yes'
> before the function call, and the exec command thing?
>
> Thanks in advance
>
> Yannis Baritakis
>
>
>
> On 11 Νοε 2008, at 10:10 ΜΜ, Sebastian Goebel wrote:
>
> > CampInstallationView.php line 224:
> > The function apache_get_modules() is not available in cgi php. I just
> > returned 'Yes' before the function call.
> >
> > CampInstallationBase.php line 365:
> > I believe the exec command is disabled, so I had to make the if
> > clause alwas
> > wrong to reach the next step (without having the cron taks installed).
>
public static function CheckRewriteModule()
{
return (function_exists('apache_get_modules')) ? 'Yes' : 'Yes';
return array_search('mod_rewrite', apache_get_modules()) !=FALSE ? 'Yes' : 'No';
}
I did not change at all the CampInstallationBase.php file, but
everything seems to work ok.
Thanks a million,
Yannis
On 17 Νοε 2008, at 3:06 ΜΜ, Sebastian Goebel wrote:
> Hi Yannis,
>
> I simply changed the function to return 'Yes' before the
> apache_get_modulees is called:
>
> public static function CheckRewriteModule()
> {
> return 'Yes';
> return array_search('mod_rewrite', apache_get_modules()) !=> FALSE ? 'Yes' : 'No';
> }
>
> Actually I am not sure if it really matters, but check if you have
> mod_rewrite installed. If not, retutn 'No'.
>
> Another issue is that cgi-php may not able to call the cron binary
> using exec(). In this case you will get an error at the end of the
> install provess, and cannot continue. You can skip the cron install
> using the attches CampInstallationBase.php The cron is there for
> automatic publishing, creating the article index, sending
> notifications etc. You can manually add following lines (need to
> adjust the path)
>
> * * * * * /%campsite-install-dir%/bin/campsite-autopublish
> 0 */4 * * * /%campsite-install-dir%/bin/campsite-indexer
> 0 */8 * * * /%campsite-install-dir%/bin/subscription-notifier
> */2 * * * * /%campsite-install-dir%/bin/events-notifier
> 0 */4 * * * /%campsite-install-dir%/bin/campsite-statistics
>
> Please let us know if you had succes.
>
> Best,
> Sebastian
>
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: Yannis Baritakis [mailto:ibaritakis@yahoo.com]
>> Sent: Sunday, November 16, 2008 8:33 PM
>> To: campsite-dev@campware.org
>> Subject: Re: [Bulk] [campsite-dev] campsite on cgi php
>>
>>
>> Hello,
>>
>> Can you please tell me with more details how did you managed to
>> install campsite 3.1.2 on a cgi php account?
>> I am trying to install campsite on my Bluehost account to check its
>> features.
>> How did you made the function apache_get_modules() to return 'Yes'
>> before the function call, and the exec command thing?
>>
>> Thanks in advance
>>
>> Yannis Baritakis
>>
>>
>>
>> On 11 Νοε 2008, at 10:10 ΜΜ, Sebastian Goebel wrote:
>>
>>> CampInstallationView.php line 224:
>>> The function apache_get_modules() is not available in cgi php. I
>>> just
>>> returned 'Yes' before the function call.
>>>
>>> CampInstallationBase.php line 365:
>>> I believe the exec command is disabled, so I had to make the if
>>> clause alwas
>>> wrong to reach the next step (without having the cron taks
>>> installed).
>>
>
we tryed to migrate an 2.7 instance to 3.1.1 and camo over following problems:
1. There are a lot of links targeting the template that way: link
This does not work anymore, even in template path mode. Just the tpl3 parameter matters.
May we should/can add functionality to the converter to replace such links by: link
2. I found that the template parameter does not work correctly in short names mode. E.g. link does not add the tpl3 parameter. I played with the path of the template (relative, absolute with/without subfolder) and had no success.
But strange, on a installation I made here it works. Was this fixed in 3.2-dev, or is it some randomly appearing bug?
1. Replace all the URLs manually; we won't spend any more time to fix custom
written URLs.
2. Please check if the templates were registered in the database. Most
probably you dropped the templates there and the database wasn't updated.
The template engine does not display the tpl parameter unless the template
was registered in the database (Templates table).
Mugur
On Tue, Nov 18, 2008 at 1:19 PM, Sebastian Goebel wrote:
> Hi,
>
> we tryed to migrate an 2.7 instance to 3.1.1 and camo over following
> problems:
>
> 1. There are a lot of links targeting the template that way:
> link
> This does not work anymore, even in template path mode. Just the tpl=123
> parameter matters.
>
> May we should/can add functionality to the converter to replace such links
> by:
> link
>
>
> 2. I found that the template parameter does not work correctly in short
> names mode. E.g.
> link does not
> add the tpl=123 parameter. I played with the path of the template (relative,
> absolute with/without subfolder) and had no success.
> But strange, on a installation I made here it works. Was this fixed in
> 3.2-dev, or is it some randomly appearing bug?
>
> Best,
> Sebastian
>
>
2. Please check if the templates were registered in the database. Most probably you dropped the templates there and the database wasn't updated. The template engine does not display the tpl parameter unless the template was registered in the database (Templates table).
I did open the templates admin page. And switching to template path mode, it worked fine.
On Wed, Nov 19, 2008 at 1:11 AM, Sebastian Goebel wrote:
>
>
> 2. Please check if the templates were registered in the database. Most
> probably you dropped the templates there and the database wasn't updated.
> The template engine does not display the tpl parameter unless the template
> was registered in the database (Templates table).
>
> I did open the templates admin page. And switching to template path mode,
> it worked fine.
>
the edge is back to live with ubuntu 8.04, which is planned to be supported
until 2013.
Anybody who knows sites/services there is encouraged to check them.
For those which want to upgrade their debian based systems
Once ago I read that upgrades should be done from version to version.
I did the upgrade in 3 steps from edgy->feisty->gutsy->hardy by changing
/etc/apt/sources.list for each step and run an apt-get dist-upgrade. In the
feisty and gutsy steps some dependency prolem occured (was not able to
install apache2-threaded-dev), but now it seems fine.